Bureau of Indian Education | Schools


Currently, the Bureau of Indian Education oversees a total of 183 elementary, secondary, residential and peripheral dormitories across 23 states. 126 schools are tribally controlled under P.L. 93-638 Indian Self Determination Contracts or P.L. 100-297 Tribally Controlled Grant Schools Act. 57 schools are operated by the Bureau of Indian Education. The Bureau of Indian Education also oversees two (2) post-secondary schools: Haskell Indian Nations University and Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute.

The Bureau of Indian Education (BIE) National Directory is now available. The 2015 Directory provides contact information for the BIE Central Office, Division of Performance & Accountability, Division of Administration, Human Resources, Associate Deputy Director Offices, BIE and BIA Facilities Managers, BIE operated schools, tribally controlled schools, and post secondary institutions.

Bureau of Indian Education National Directory (May 2015)