

BIE Advisory Board for Exceptional Children Current Board Members for Federal Fiscal Year (FFY) 2022-2023

ame, Board Position & Location	Representing the Category for:	Term
Norman Shawanokasic, Chairperson	Representatives of Tribes or Tribal	07/09/2020 to
Wisconsin	Organizations	07/09/2023
Dr. Harvey Rude, Ed.D., Vice-Chair	Service Providers to Children with	07/09/2020 to
Colorado	Disabilities	07/09/2023
Leslie Finnearty, Secretary	Teachers of Children with Disabilities	02/10/2022 to
North Dakota		02/10/2025
Dr. Robin Blitz, M.D., Board Member	Service Providers to Children with	07/09/2020 to
Arizona	Disabilities	07/09/2023
Monica Cleveland., Board Member	Indian parents or guardians of children	03/17/2023 to
Arizona	with disabilities	03/17/2026
. Perry Graves, Ed.D., Board Member	Teachers of Children with Disabilities	01/14/2021 to
Kansas		01/14/2024
Rachel Harrison, Board Member	Teachers of Children with Disabilities	04/18/2023 to
Oklahoma		04/18/2026
Wendy Kroupa, Board Member	Local Education Officials	04/18/2023 to
South Dakota		04/18/2026
Gretchen Lehmann, Board Member	Service Providers to Children with	02/10/2022 to
North Dakota	Disabilities	02/10/2025
Pilar Peltier, Board Member	Bureau employee concerned with the	02/10/2022 to
Oregon	education of children with disabilities.	02/10/2025
11 Teryl Running Horse, Board Member	Indian Persons with Disabilities	01/14/2021 to
South Dakota		01/14/2024
Brian Wagner, Board Member	Representatives of Tribes or Tribal	11/04/2022 to
South Dakota	Organizations	11/04/2025
Gretchen Wendell, Board Member	Local Education Officials	02/10/2022 to
South Dakota		02/10/2025
	Norman Shawanokasic, Chairperson Wisconsin Dr. Harvey Rude, Ed.D., Vice-Chair Colorado Leslie Finnearty, Secretary North Dakota Dr. Robin Blitz, M.D., Board Member Arizona Monica Cleveland., Board Member Arizona Dr. Perry Graves, Ed.D., Board Member Kansas Rachel Harrison, Board Member Oklahoma Wendy Kroupa, Board Member South Dakota Gretchen Lehmann, Board Member North Dakota Pilar Peltier, Board Member Oregon Teryl Running Horse, Board Member South Dakota Brian Wagner, Board Member South Dakota Gretchen Lehmann, Board Member South Dakota Brian Wagner, Board Member	Norman Shawanokasic, Chairperson Wisconsin Dr. Harvey Rude, Ed.D., Vice-Chair Colorado Leslie Finnearty, Secretary North Dakota Dr. Robin Blitz, M.D., Board Member Arizona Monica Cleveland., Board Member Arizona Dr. Perry Graves, Ed.D., Board Member Colklahoma Wendy Kroupa, Board Member South Dakota Gretchen Lehmann, Board Member North Dakota Driabilities Driabilities Teachers of Children with Disabilities Teachers of Children with

The roster was updated on 4/19/2023. Currently, there are two vacant positions. The BIE is advertising to fill the vacant positions. The advertisement closing date is 4/24/23.

- According to the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), the BIE must establish and maintain an
 advisory panel for the purpose of providing policy guidance with respect to special education and related
 services for children with disabilities in the State. The Advisory Panel's role is to advise the Secretary of the
 Interior with regard, to serving students with disabilities through Part B of IDEA. P.L.108-446, Sec. 611(a)(6),
 Sec.612(a)(21)(A).
- The Designated Federal Officer (DFO) is an Education Specialist, BIE, Division of Performance and Accountability, who is a full-time Federal employee appointed in accordance with Agency procedures. Questions about the BIE Advisory Board can be directed to Jennifer Davis, DFO at Jennifer.Davis@bie.edu or phone (202) 860-7845.